September 18, 2020

Cárdenas Joins 42 Western Lawmakers in Calling for Increased Federal Funds to Support Comprehensive Wildfire Response and Recovery

Washington, D.C. – This week, Congressman Tony Cárdenas (CA-29) , along with 8 Senators and 33 Members of the U.S. House of Representatives, asked Senate and House leaders to replenish and increase funding for wildfire response and recovery in any upcoming spending package, as well as pass an additional federal relief package – known as a “disaster supplemental” – as massive infernos continue to rage in the West.

“First responders and firefighters are working around the clock to contain these fires and respond to the immediate needs of local communities. But states are distressingly low on funds in light of the ongoing global coronavirus pandemic,” the lawmakers wrote in a letter to Senate and House Appropriations Committees leadership. “While the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and other federal partners have mobilized to assist states, more work remains as communities begin to assess and understand the scope of damages to properties and natural resources. Congress has previously acted in the aftermath of wildfires to provide federal relief, and accordingly, we ask that you make funds available for necessary wildfire response and recovery.”

Senate Cosigners: Ron Wyden D-Ore.,Catherine Cortez Masto, D-Nev., Dianne Feinstein, D-Calif., Martin Heinrich, D-N.M., Jacky Rosen, D-Nev., Jeffrey A. Merkley, D-Ore., Maria Cantwell, D-Wash., Kamala D. Harris, D-Calif., and Kyrsten Sinema, D-Ariz.

House Members:  Peter A. DeFazio, D-Ore., Suzanne Bonamici, D-Ore., Earl Blumenauer, D-Ore., Kurt Schrader, D-Ore., Juan Vargas, D-Calif., Denny Heck, D-Wash., Scott H. Peters, D-Calif., Ami Bera, M.D., D-Calif., Nanette Diaz Barragán, D-Calif., Julia Brownley, D-Calif., Doris Matsui, D-Calif., Jimmy Panetta, D-Calif., Jim Costa, D-Calif., Tom O’Halleran, D-Ariz., Ro Khanna, D-Calif., Anna G. Eshoo, D-Calif., Suzan K. DelBene, D-Wash.,  Dina Titus, D-Nev., Kim Schrier, M.D., D-Wash., Alan Lowenthal, D-Calif., Ted W. Lieu, D-Calif., Steven Horsford, D-Nev., Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr., D-Calif., Adam B. Schiff, D-Calif., Salud Carbajal, D-Calif., Jackie Speier, D-Calif., Mike Thompson, D-Calif., Mark DeSaulnier, D-Calif., Susie Lee, D-Nev., Jared Huffman, D-Calif., Karen Bass, D-Calif., and Eric Swalwell, D-Calif., and Brad Sherman, D-Calif.

A full copy of the letter can be found here.