September 15, 2022

Cárdenas, Menendez, Cornyn Lead Bipartisan, Bicameral Resolution Commemorating Hispanic Heritage Month

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, Congressman Tony Cárdenas (CA-29), alongside Senators Bob Menendez (D-N.J.) and John Cornyn (R-Texas) led 109 of their colleagues in introducing a commemorative resolution recognizing September 15th through October 15th, 2022, as Hispanic Heritage Month. The resolution celebrates the heritage, culture and immense contributions of Latinos to the United States. 

“Latino history has always been American history, since the birth of our nation and into its bright future,” said Congressman Cárdenas. “Our community’s involvement and influence on America’s cultural, economic and political tapestry is something that deserves both recognition and celebration. I’m so proud to lead this resolution that honors the inspiring contributions of diverse Latinos to this country. Happy Hispanic Heritage Month!” 

“The Hispanic community represents the best of America – people with different national origins, customs, cultures, and traditions all connected by their commitment to strengthening the American Dream,” said Sen. Menendez. “As the Hispanic community continues to grow and expand the promise of America, I appreciate my colleagues from both sides of the aisle for supporting this bipartisan resolution and recognizing the strength, resilience, and significance of our community.”  

“Texas and America are made better every day because of the contributions of Hispanic-Americans,” said Sen. Cornyn. “This bipartisan resolution will honor the more than 11 million Hispanic Americans that call Texas home, and I’m proud to help usher it through Congress for the 14th year in a row.” 

The commemoration of Hispanic Heritage Month started in 1968 as ‘Hispanic Heritage Week’ under President Lyndon B. Johnson and was expanded in 1988 by President Ronald Reagan to cover a 30-day period starting on September 15th and ending on October 15th. Latinos currently make up 18.5 percent of the U.S. population and are projected to grow to 107 million people by 2065 as 24 percent of the population. Cárdenas’ resolution notes that Hispanic-Americans contribute more than $2.6 trillion to the United States economy, more than the GDP of all but the top 17 nations in the world.

The House resolution is co-sponsored by Representatives Pete Aguilar (CA-31), Nanette Barragan (CA-44), Karen Bass (CA-37), Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01), Brendan Boyle (PA-02), Anthony G. Brown (MD-4), Julia Brownley (CA-26), Salud Carbajal (CA-24), Andre Carson (IN-07), Joaquin Castro (TX-20), David N. Cicilline (RI-01), J. Luis Correa (CA-46), Jim Costa (CA-16), Jason Crow (CO-06), Henry Cuellar (TX-28), Danny K. Davis (IL07), Suzan K. DelBene (WA-01), Ted Deutch (FL-22), Veronica Escobar (TX-16), Adriano Espaillat (NY-13) Ruben Gallego (AZ-7), John Garamendi (CA-03), Sylvia Garcia (TX-29) Jesus "Chuy" Garcia (IL-04), Jimmy Gomez (CA-34), Vicente Gonzalez (TX-15), Al Green (TX-09), Raul M. Grijalva (AZ-03), Jahana Hayes (CT-05), Marcy Kaptur (OH-09), Ro Khanna (CA-17), James Langevin (RI-02), Rick Larsen (WA-02), Susie Lee (NV-03), Teresa Leger Fernández (NM-03), Mike Levin (CA-49), Stephen F. Lynch (MA-08), Carolyn B. Maloney (NY-12), Grace Meng (NY-6), Gwen Moore (WI-04), Grace F. Napolitano (CA-32), Marie Newman (IL-03), Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC-00), Alexandra Ocasio Cortez (NY-14), Tom O'Halleran (AZ-01), Ilhan Omar (MN-05), Jimmy Panetta (CA-20), Bill Pascrell Jr. (NJ-09), Scott Peters (CA-52), Jamie Raskin (MD-08), Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA-40), Raul Ruiz, M.D. (CA-36), Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan (MP-00), Michael F.Q. San Nicolas (GU-00), Linda T. Sánchez (CA-38), Albio Sires (NJ08), Darren Soto (FL-09), Dina Titus (NV-01), Norma J. Torres (CA-35), Ritchie Torres (NY-15), Lori Trahan (MA-03), Juan Vargas (CA-51), Nydia M. Velázquez (NY-07), Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23) and Nikema Williams (GA-05). 

The Senate resolution is co-sponsored by Senators Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.), John Hickenlooper (D-Colo.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Angus King (I-Vt.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisc.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Mark Kelly (D-Ariz.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Jon Ossoff (D-Ga.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.0, Susan Collins (R-Maine), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Bill Hagerty (R-Okla.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), and R. Scott (R-FL).

The House resolution can be found here. The Senate resolution can be found here.